About Yoga

“Yoga is not just about going to a 90 min class.
It’s a constant practice and internal journey through life,
to become one with yourself.” - Madeleine Uggla

The word yoga means "union", referring to combining your mind with the physical body. You are practicing it to calm your mind, by holding a present focus and release any limitations in the body.

Yoga can be practiced in different ways, ranging from a physical flow yoga with music to a sedentary breathing exercise in silence. An important factor in practice is the breathing, which allows the body to heal by a more energetic respiration. It's said, according to Patanjali in the Yoga Sutras, the eightfold path are eight steps that basically act as guidelines on how to live a meaningful and purposeful life.

The Eight Limps of Yoga


Yama - Moral codes (5)
Ahimsa - non-violence

Satya - truthfulness

Asteya - non-stealing

Bramashayra - sexual restraint

Aparigraha - non-possessiveness
Niyama - Personal behavior (5)

Saucha - purity

Santocha - contentment

Tapas - dicipline

Svadyaya - self-study / spiritual studies

Ishvara Pranidanha - surrender to universe / god

Asana - Yoga postures, it referred to mastering the body to sit still for meditation
Pranayama - Breahting techniques

Pratyahara - Withdrawal of the senses

Dharana - Concentration

Dhyana - Practive of meditation

Samadhi - Merging with the divine